Veerkamp edges Anderson in District 5

Seidl wins sheriff’s race


BROWN COUNTY — Brown County Board of Commissioners District 5 candidate Jeff Veerkamp of Comfrey edged Lynn Anderson of Springfield for the seat early Wednesday morning.

With two of 13 precincts reporting, Anderson led with 408 votes to 326 for Veerkamp. When the complete, unofficial county results updated on the Minnesota Secretary of State website at about 3 a.m. Wednesday, Veerkamp had 1,085 votes to 1,052 for Anderson.

“I was satisfied with 326 votes in Springfield,” Veerkamp said. “A 33-vote difference is pretty close, pretty exciting.”

Veerkamp said he didn’t go to bed late Tuesday night or early Wednesday morning, waiting for the updated vote totals.

“I open my store at 4 a.m., so I stayed up all night,” Veerkamp said.

On Wednesday morning, he was traveling around the area, picking up what was left of his 140 campaign signs.

“I picked up about 100 signs,” Veerkamp said. “I’m sure I knocked on the door of 98 percent of Brown County District 5 residents. People want to see your face.”

Veerkamp said he’s thankful for the support he got in the election campaign.

“I’m grateful for all the help and encouragement I got from people. That helped me out along the way,” Veerkamp said. “I’m happy to serve the people. I have no hidden agenda. I just want to thank all the people for voting for me.”

Final vote totals in other Brown County races included Auditor/Treasurer Jean Prochniak with 6,034 votes. Paul J. Wesselmann got 4,955 votes.

Jason Seidl won the sheriff’s race with 7,818 votes. Jeffrey S. Hohensee had 3,836 votes.

Sleepy Eye City Council Ward 2 challenger Gary Windschitl topped incumbent Richard Zinniel. Windschitl got 430 votes, Zinniel 369.

Michael Kuehn of Winthrop won a Gibbon Fairfax Winthrop (GFW) school board seat with 730 votes. Following were Matthew T. Rabe with 663, Kevin Caldwell with 440, Nicholas Krueger with 398 and seven write-ins. Kelsey Odegard of Gibbon and Marisa Lee of Fairfax ran unopposed. Becky Vos won an open school board seat.

Cedar Mountain school district voters approved a $790 per pupil unit operating levy hike with 499 “yes” votes and 435 “no” votes.

Nicollet school district voters elected Eric Hopp, Scot Osborne and Adam Erickson with 739, 626 and 540 votes respectively. Following were George Grubb 405, Ashley Black 402 and Ken Bosley 192. There were seven write-ins.

Gaylord voters elected Lynn Grochow, Jessica F. Uecker and Tony Joseph Padilla to the city council. Grochow got 594 votes, Uecker 462 and Padilla 443. Following were Jim Landaas with 321, Dana M. Candelia with 262 and 12 write-ins.

Redwood Falls voters elected Tom Quackenbush mayor with 1,424 votes. John Francis Madden got 330 votes. There were 20 write-ins.

Springfield voters elected Jeffrey A. Krestch, Mandy (Kuelbs) Rasset and Ramsey Beyer to the city council. Kretsch got 1,028 votes, Rasset 1,017 and Beyer 952. Michael J. Rogotzke got 559 votes. There were seven write-ins.

For more information, visit

Fritz Busch can be emailed at