School Board confirms names on ballot

NEW ULM — The District 88 School Board held a short meeting Thursday evening, which included a resolution regarding the upcoming school board election.

The resolution confirmed the names of those on the School Board election ballot. The names on the sample ballot are Steven Gag, Melissa Sunderman, Amanda Groebner and Duane Winter.

The resolution was unanimously approved by the board. The general election is Nov. 6, 2018.

In other news, the board’s Transport Committee met with representatives of New Ulm Bus Lines (NUBL). The company is asking the board to consider entering a five-year contract with the school district. The current contract runs through 2020. Superintendent Jeff Bertrang will work with NUBL on a draft for a new contract.

The board approved the employment of Diane Berbeich as a server, Jane Christian as a family and consumer science (FACS) teacher, Therese Clyne as a dishwasher, Erin Jensen as head secretary, Lynne Landerville as a cashier, Gale Markham as a special education para-professional, Kaitlyn Solofra as a Kids Connection staff member, Shannon Sondag as a school readiness para-professional and Elizabeth Wendland as a custodian.

Superintendent Jeff Bertrang announced open houses for buildings will be on Aug. 28 and Aug. 29 from 3:30 p.m. to 7:30 p.m.

A study session will be held on 6 p.m. Thursday, Sept. 13, in the District Conference Room. The next regular meeting School Board meeting will be held 6 p.m. Thursday, Sept. 27, in the District Boardroom.