College News

Jenna Helget of New Ulm has been named to the Dakota Wesleyan University (Mitchell, S.D.) Spring 2020 dean’s list.

To qualify for the dean’s list, a student must have a semester grade point average of at least 3.5 on a four-point scale. They also must complete at least 12 hours of academic work during the semester.


Andrea Sorenson of Madelia will graduate with a Bachelor of Science degree in Biology from University of Sioux Falls, S.D.

Sorenson was among nearly 500 students who are candidates for degrees in the 2020 graduating class.

University of Sioux Falls found new ways to celebrate the class of 2020 by mailing graduation boxes to each graduate containing a commencement program, diploma cover, and in USF tradition, a purple towel representing the commission to serve others that comes with the responsibility of an education.


Samantha Mellies, of Stewart, has graduated from the University of Findlay, (Findlay, Ohio). Mellies received the following: Bachelor of Science in Diagnostic Medical Sonography. Mellies graduated from the University with the academic designation of magna cum laude.

The University is planning to hold an in-person commencement event in the fall, when it is safe according to state and local health guidelines. Mellies will be invited to walk in the ceremony along with fellow graduates. More than 1000 graduates earned doctoral, master’s, bachelor’s or associate degrees for the academic year 2019 – 2020.


Brynn Alfred, from New Ulm, received recognition from the Sigma Theta Tau International Nursing Honor Society at an honors convocation at Wisconsin Lutheran College. This honor is presented to nursing majors who have demonstrated professionalism, leadership, and academic integrity and meet the following academic requirements: a 3.5 GPA in the senior year and in the upper 35% of the class, or a 3.75 GPA in the junior year and in the upper 10% of the class. Brynn is a graduate of Minnesota Valley Lutheran High School.


South Central College (SCC) has released its President’s List and Dean’s List of students with exceptional academic performance this past in the 2019 Fall Semester, which ran from August – December, 2019.

The President’s List includes students who have a cumulative GPA of 3.8 or higher and have completed at least 24 cumulative credits at SCC. The Dean’s List includes students who have achieved a semester GPA of 3.5 or higher and completed at least 12 credits that semester. Because of the different criteria, students may be named to both the President’s and The Dean’s Lists in the same semester. Students from the following communities were named to the 2019 Fall Semester President’s and Dean’s Lists.

President’s List

Fall Semester 2019

Lake Crystal: Elizabeth Polster, Hayley Qualley

New Ulm: Amanda Benson, Corey Cheatham, Samantha Guggisberg, Blake Guth, Glenn Howell, Mark Isenberg, Hannah Larson, Jamie Linberg, Jonathan Meyer

Nicollet: Cody Lensing

Sleepy Eye: Parker Neid

Springfield: Lydel Janni

Dean’s List

Fall Semester 2019

Gaylord: Mercedes Suedbeck

Gibbon: Whitney Ahlers

Hanska: Elizabeth Makela

Morgan: Nolan Freitag

New Ulm: Antonella Adams, Amanda Benson, Noah Bollingmo, Corey Cheatham, Shane Compton, Aubrey Fischer, Joseph Griebel, Samantha Guggisberg, Blake Guth, Naomi Hatfield, Aubrey Hauser, Paige Henning, Jaydan Hotovec, Glenn Howell, Mark Isenberg, Hannah Larson, Jamie Linberg, Jonathan Meyer, Devon Perales, Brian Ranweiler, Katelyn Sarkar, Cole Sasser, Holly Schaefer, Dustin Scheibel, Katelyn Suess, Dale Thom, Connor Wehrwein, Ciara Whitcomb

Nicollet: Eric Fischer, Brady Hopp, Cody Lensing

Sleepy Eye: Matthew Bloemke, Trista Fulton, Zachary Hoffmann, Abby Maasz, Parker Neid

Springfield: Myra Hertling, Lydel Janni, Julio Martinez, Timothy Rathman, Austin Steffl, Marissa Valencia, Tarrah Vikter

Winthrop: Wyatt Kiel, Jacob Turbes


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)