College News

Ruth Holten of Nicollet, a junior studying Nursing, has been named to the Spring Honors List at Concordia University, Mequon, Wis. To be eligible for the honor, students must achieve a minimum 3.60 GPA.


The following students have been named to the 2019 spring semester Dean’s List at the University of Minnesota Twin Cities: To qualify for the Dean’s List, a student must complete 12 or more lettergraded credits while attaining a 3.66 grade point average.


Kailey A Geib, Senior, Coll of Contin & Prof Studies

Aaron J Strack, Senior, College of Liberal Arts


Kevin M Durham, Sophomore, Carlson School of Management

Lindsey M Flieth, Junior, College of Liberal Arts

Mason F Latzke, Senior, Col of Food, Agr & Nat Res Sci


Ramsey M Piotter, Junior, Col of Food, Agr & Nat Res Sci


Alexis M Hacker, Non Degree, Coll of Contin & Prof Studies

New Ulm

Thomas J Bauer, Sophomore, Carlson School of Management

Kate L Denney, Senior, College of Liberal Arts

Samantha J Guldan, Sophomore, College of Sci and Engineering

Nathan L Hauser, Freshman, College of Sci and Engineering

Catherine L Jensen, Senior, Col of Educ/Human Development

Brendan O’Brien, Sophomore, Col of Educ/Human Development

Wyatt L Oelberg, Senior, College of Sci and Engineering

Jared M Otterstatter, Senior, College of Sci and Engineering

Matthew P Rowley, Senior, Carlson School of Management

Maya R Sarkar, Senior, College of Biological Sciences

John M Schwartz, Junior, Col of Food, Agr & Nat Res Sci

Rebecca M Schwarz, Sophomore, College of Liberal Arts

Michael Skillings, Junior, Carlson School of Management

Emma I Todd, Senior, Col of Educ/Human Development

Rodrigo F Tojo Garcia, Junior, College of Liberal Arts

Elise G Webb, Sophomore, Carlson School of Management

Sleepy Eye

Victoria L Anderson, Senior, Carlson School of Management

Kelsie L Domeier, Sophomore, Col of Food, Agr & Nat Res Sci

Hailey G Weymann, Senior, College of Liberal Arts


Brady Roiger, Junior, Col of Educ/Human Development


The Academic High Honor and Honor lists (Dean’s lists) for the past spring semester at Minnesota State University, Mankato have been announced by Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs Marilyn Wells.

Among 3,140 students, a total of 829 students qualified for the High Honor List by achieving a 4.0 straight “A” average, while 2,311 students earned a 3.5 to 3.99 average to qualify for the Honor List. To qualify for academic honors, undergraduate students must be enrolled for at least 12 credit hours for the semester.


Ian Holmes, Honor

Madeline Kjellesvig, Honor

Darin Neisen, Honor

Emily Peterson, Honor

Kyla Schlueter, High Honor

Alexandra Stock, Honor


Sydney Holland, Honor


Hailey Hulke, Honor


Quinn Fahey, High Honor


Nereida Villegas, Honor


Sierra Andrews, Honor

Taylor Brinkman, High Honor

Rocio Cardenas, High Honor

Carron Kranz, Honor

Alma Lopez, Honor

Timothy Otto, Honor

Brenda Padilla, Honor

Morgan Stearns, Honor

Andrea Trout, Honor


Mary Dustin, Honor

Kirsten Meyer, Honor


April Atzenhoefer, Honor

Evan Atzenhoefer, Honor

Ashley Juracek, Honor

Bridget Kavan, Honor


Katelyn Hagan, Honor

Alexis Osland, High Honor

Danielle Wacker, Honor


Rebecca Wenisch, Honor

New Ulm

Kelsey Anderson, High Honor

Devan Andree, Honor

Hannah Berdan, Honor

Hailey Boelter, Honor

Hunter Campbell, Honor

Aaron Chamberlain, Honor

Megan Dalueg, Honor

Rachel Dauer, Honor

Emily Eckstrand, Honor

Tyler Guggisberg, Honor

Caleigh Heck, High Honor

Amber Hillesheim, High Honor

Jaycey Hillesheim, Honor

Jeffrey Hogen, Honor

Elizabeth Holm, Honor

Rebekah Hoppe, Honor

Mason Iles, Honor

Conner Jakes, Honor

Becca Kuehn, High Honor

Spencer Landsteiner, Honor

Sarah Longtin, Honor

Sarah Meyer, Honor

Ashley Nelson, Honor

Ryan O’Connell, High Honor

Blake Olson, Honor

Katia Ostermann, Honor

Meghan Rosenau, High Honor

Morgan Schabert, Honor

Alison Schugel, High Honor

Nicholas Schultz, High Honor

Allyson Vorwerk, High Honor

Tyler Walls, Honor

Ryan Wesselmann, Honor

Owen Wilkins, Honor


Taylor Bode, Honor

Kaylee Diefenderfer, High Honor

Ian Kellogg, Honor

Makena Roeker, High Honor

Laura Wachsmuth, High Honor

Sleepy Eye

Rebeca Alvarez, Honor

Olivia Berkner, Honor

Brianna Bertrand, Honor

Corrin Helget, High Honor

Tayler Hoffman, Honor

Abby Johnson, Honor

Kelsie Kosak, High Honor

Cody Landkammer, Honor

Jenna Zuhlsdorf, Honor


Kalley Hoffmann, High Honor

Micheala Leonard, Honor

Amaya Martinez, Honor

Narissa Nguyen, Honor

Kate Quesenberry, Honor

Maleah Roiger, High Honor


Alyssa Kelley, High Honor


Local students have earned Dean’s List honors from Bemidji State University in Bemidji, Minn., at the conclusion of the Spring 2019 semester.

To be eligible for the Dean’s List, BSU students must be enrolled for at least 12 credits and earn a 3.5 GPA during the semester. A total of 681 students earned Spring 2019 Dean’s List honors from the university, and an additional 351 students earned President’s List honors for earning perfect 4.0 GPAs.

Area students include:

Brandy Ringeisen, Franklin

Daniel Kranz,Gaylord

Ryley Hansen, New Ulm

Paige Hentges, Winthrop


Samuel Stresemann of Winthrop has been named to the St. Olaf College dean’s list for the spring 2019 semester. Stresemann, son of Randy and Jean Stresemann, is a graduate of GFW High School and is studying chemistry. The dean’s list recognizes students with a semester grade point average of 3.75 or higher on a 4-point scale.


Amber Eischen of Comfrey has been named to the Iowa Lakes Community College Spring 2019 Honors List with a 4.0 GPA. Sudents who have achieved a 3.25 grade point average or better are recognized by inclusion on the dean’s list.


Kristen Kokesch of Winthrop graduated from Bethel University, St. Paul, Minnesota, following the spring 2019 semester. Kokesch earned a Bachelor of Arts in Missional Ministries. She is the daughter of Dennis and Pam Kokesch.


The University of Wisconsin- Stevens Point conferred degrees on more than 1,250 graduates during the university’s spring commencement ceremonies on May 18, 2019. Area graduates include: Sydney Kerkhoff, Clements, Bachelor of Science, Accounting, Business, Magna Cum Laude

Mariah Vogel, Morgan, Bachelor of Science, Resource Mgmt-Law Enforcement


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)