College News

St. Cloud Technical & Community College has named its honors lists for the Spring 2017-2018 year.

Area students on the list include:

Jackson Reinarts, New Ulm

Nicholas Strate, Sleepy Eye

Evan Busche, Winthrop


Tonia Henning, of New Ulm, was recently honored at the annual Student Recognition Dinner at Beuna Vista University, Storm Lake, Iowa.

Henning received the Clifford A. Rae Academic Achievement Award, which was created by an endowment from the foundations established by the late Dr. Harold Walter Siebens to honor Mr. Rae, the long-time advisor and counsel to Dr. Siebens and the foundations. The endowment supports annual awards for nine pre-qualified, high performing BVU business and science majors each academic year.


The University of Minnesota Crookston recently announced its list of spring semester 2018 graduates. Summer session graduates include:

Jackie Lynnette Dalueg of New Ulm, graduating with a Bachelor of Science in Accounting.

Whitney Mae Anderson of Winthrop, graduating with a Bachelor of Science in Early Childhood Education.

Christina Louise Clobes of Fairfax, graduating with a Bachelor of Science in Finance.


The Spring Semester Dean’s List at Gustavus Adolphus College has been released. The list comprises students who have earned a 3.7 grade point average (based on a scale in which 4.0 = A) or higher for the semester ending in May 2018.

The following local students were named to the Dean’s List at Gustavus Adolphus College:

Arlington: Brandon Raghu

Fairfax: Sarah Hinderman

New Ulm: Abigail Kamm, Rachel Strandmark

Sleepy Eye: Josie Schieffert, Nathan Schroepfer


\The University of South Dakota announced its Academic Honors and Dean’s List to recognize more than 2200 students for their high academic achievement during the Spring 2018 semester. Full-time, undergraduate students are named to the Dean’s List if they received a 3.5 GPA for courses they took in the Spring 2018 semester, and they had no incomplete or failing grades.

Area students include:

Aaron W. Fleischer, Comfrey;

Jessica K Helget, Lafayette;

Cassandra E Kretsch and Ellen K Roufs, New Ulm

Amy J Davis, Callie A Wersal, Sanborn

Rachel N Beckman, Bridget L Fenger, Hannah L Johnson, Katie M. Rosenstengel, Springfield

Alison R Benz, Wabasso


Augsburg University recently announced academic honors for students named to the Dean’s List for Spring Semester 2018. Megan Hietala of New Ulm was named to the Augsburg University Dean’s List for the Spring Semester 2018. Hietala is the daughter of Jeff and Kitty Hietala and is studying Music Therapy.

The Augsburg University Dean’s List recognizes those full-time students who have achieved a grade point average of 3.50 or higher and those part-time students who have achieved a grade point average of 3.75 or higher in a given term.


The following local individuals were among the 520 students to graduate with bachelor of arts degrees from Gustavus Adolphus College during the school’s annual commencement exercises on Sunday, June 2:

Arlington: Kimberly Kurtzweg, Athletic Training

Gaylord: Megan Eckberg, Nursing

New Ulm: Abigail Kamm, Sociology & Anthropology, summa cum laude; Clay Sletta, Theatre; Mason Stolt, Philosophy, Psychological Science, Rachel Strandmark, Biology, magna cum laude

Sleepy Eye: Samuel Peterson, Computer Science, cum laude, Brandon Polesky, Health & Physical Education Teaching, cum laude.


Lauren K. Docherty of New Ulm was among more than 700 graduates honored at Michigan Technological University’s Spring Commencement held on the Houghton, Michigan campus on May 5.

Docherty received a Bachelor of Science In Applied Ecology and Environmental Sciences. She is a graduate of New Ulm Senior High School, and is the daughter of Linda Heine


The following students have been named to the Minnesota State University Moorhead dean’s list in recognition of academic achievement spring semester 2018. Students must be in degree-seeking status and maintain a 3.25 or higher grade point average while completing a minimum of 12 graded credits to qualify for the honor.

Ruth Aakre, Winthrop, \Elementary Inclusive Education

Hannah Grubb, Nicollet, Speech/Language/Hearing Science

Jacob Hlavsa, West St. Paul, formerly of New Ulm, BFA in Art

Benjamin Rieke, New Ulm, Broadcast Journalism


Bethany Lutheran College in Mankato has released its Dean’s List for the Spring 2017-2018 academic year. To be named to the Dean’s Lisst, a student must carry at least 14 academic credits and maintain at least a 3.5 grade point average.

Area students on the list include:

Alexa Alfred and Brunn Alfred, daughters of Richard and Carolee Alfred of New Ulm;

Lauren McMackin, daughter of Larry and Rayan McMackin of New Ulm;

Laura Sonnek, daughter of Daniel and Kathleen Sonnek of Lake Crystal;

Sophia Wiesensel, daugher of Loren and Dawn Wiesensel of New Ulm;

Taylor Wolf, daughter of Tom and Beth Wolf of New Ulm.