South District, West Subdistrict announces football teams and awards

The South District, West Subdistrict South Division announced its All-District football teams and awards on Monday.

Springfield had six representatives and two honorable mentions on the All-District team. Seniors Jakob Nachreiner, Sam Pidde, Dan Rogotzke, Sam Rummel and Ashton Toll and junior Brayden Sturm were named to the team, while senior Mitchell Streich and junior Gavin Vanderwerf were honorable mentions. Toll won Co-Most Valuable Player and Most Valuable Linebacker, while Nachreiner won Offensive Back of the Year.

Sleepy Eye United had four players on the team — seniors Jon Petermann, Evan Thompson and Austin Uecker and junior Talan Helget — and two honorable mentions in senior Riley Rutscher and junior Cody Schultz. SEU head coach Brent Kucera was also named Co-All South Division Coach of the Year, while Thompson won Offensive Lineman of the Year and Uecker won Defensive Back of the Year.

Wabasso had two All-District players in seniors Bostin Brand and Garrett Marotzke and two honorable mentions in senior Joe Liebl and sophomore Zeke Olson.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper?

Starting at $4.38/week.

Subscribe Today