District 9, 9-man All-District team announced

The District 9, South Football All-District team was announced on Monday.

Mountain Lake Area’s Tim Kirk was named the Coach of the Year and MLA’s Wyatt Wall was named the Defensive Player of the Year. Edgerton’s Nolan Buckridge was selected as the Offensive Player of the Year and Max Scholten of Hills-Beaver Creek was named the Lineman of the Year.

For Sleepy Eye St. Mary’s, Carson Domeier, Trent Steffensmeier, Jacob Stevens, Brandon Tauer and Kaleb Wait were named All-District and Mason Strom, Keaton Skarupa and Vander Mathiowetz were named All-District for Red Rock Central.

Ashton Bergstrom, Hayden VanderVoort, Jacob Amsden and Saxton Melberg were selected from Buffalo Lake-Hector-Stewart and Matt Zeug, Caden Hammerschmidt and Nick Freitag were picked from Cedar Mountain.

Jed Altenberg was picked from Madelia and Colton Thomsen and Owen Warmington were picked from Nicollet.

MLA was represented by Wall, Kaden Haberman, Kolby Kremmin, Kade Wassman, Micah Holmberg and Tanner Koetzle.

Honorable Mention picks include Dylan Grev and Jordan Kolberoski of Madelia, Conner Martens and Austyn Kramer of Nicollet, Maverick Weber and Tanner Mathiowetz of Cedar Mountain, Camden Kron and Jaxon Watkins, Marcos DeLeon of MLA, Owen Weiss and Jon Petermann of St. Mary’s and Jackson Shannon and Isaac Simonson were selected from RRC.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper?


Starting at $4.38/week.

Subscribe Today