Area 9-man football players honored

The 2019 9-man South All-District Football team was announced on Monday and several area athletes were honored as All-District and honorable mention.

For Nicollet, Ben Radke, Riley Hulke and Avery Northquest were named to the All-District team and Logan Shay and Tyler Laven were named honorable mention.

Madelia had Ethan Arndt and Luke Hennis named to the All-District team while Ja’Sean Glover and Ramiro Zamora were named honorable mention.

For Cedar Mountain, Cade Schiller was named All-District while Caden Kleinschmidt and Vince Ochs were picked to the honorable mention team.

Nick Labat, Caleb Schumacher, Trent Steffensmeier and Jacob Stevens were named All-District for Sleepy Eye St. Mary’s while Patrick Hoffmann and Kyle Fischer were named honorable mention.

Zachary Reuber, Dylan Maiers and Augus Bergstrom were named All-District for Buffalo Lake-Hector-Stewart with Sutton Melberg and Kaden Zanoth being named honorable mention. Jonah Hansen, Hayden Determan, Mason Irlbeck and Derek Werner were selected All-District from Red Rock Central. Luke Willhite and Damon Holmen of RRC were named honorable mention.

Mountain Lake Area, which won the 9-man state championship on Saturday, had Abraham Stoesz named as the Offensive Player of the Year and Isaac Grev was named Lineman of the Year. Renville County West’s Jaden Kolker was named the Defensive Player of the Year and MLA’s Tim Kirk and Ryan Hebrink of RCW were Co-Coaches of the Year.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)