Josie Pautzke named Softball Player of the Year by Tomahawk Conference

Josie Pautzke of New Ulm Cathedral was named the Tomahawk All-Conference Softball Player of the Year this past weekend.

She was one of seven Greyhounds honored in total. From Cathedral, seniors Pautzke, Heidi Hoffman and Lauryn Franta, sophomore Sarah Mohr and freshman Emily Schommer were all named to the Tomahawk All-Conference team, while senior Shay Ubl and junior Abby Beranek were named honorable mentions.

Jamie Portner of Cathedral was also named Coach of the Year.

The rest of the All-Conference team features two players from Sleepy Eye St. Mary’s in seniors Leah Weiss and Cassie Heinrichs, three from Sleepy Eye in Emma Fischer, Kathryn Schroepfer and McKenna Strong, three from Wabasso in Megan Rothmeier, Jenna Frank and Cora Eichten, two from Minnesota Valley Lutheran in Haley Ditch and Lexi Fischer, Buffalo Lake-Hector-Stewart’s Jadah Borth, Springfield’s Taylor Augustin and Gibbon-Fairfax-Winthrop’s Jordan Rettig.

Honorable mentions: Shay Ubl (NUC), Abby Beranek (NUC), Alexa Owens (SESM), Kya Krzmarzick (SESM), Lauren Hoffmann (SESM), Morgan Klein (SEHS), Martina Nienhaus (SEHS), Sarah Franta (WAB), Stephanie Dalueg (MVL), Lauren Paulsen (MVL), Leslie Rodriguez (BLHS).


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)