Hub Club presents scholarships at annual meeting

NEW?ULM – The New Ulm Farm-City Hub Club presented scholarships at its annual meeting on Jan. 25.

Scholarship recipients for 2015 were Daniel Hayes, Loran Dauer, Alex Portner, Blake Schnobrich, and Alex Stark.

Scholarship Chairman Duane Laffrenzen reported that the club has awarded scholarships to 91 students – totaling $52,850 – since 1994.

In other action at the annual meeting, the Hub Club:

Learned from New Ulm FFA advisor Scott Stuckey and members Alex Harder and Chris Maurer that the ag department at NUHS is cooperating with the Hub Club and other agricultural organizations and businesses to raise $50,000 to $60,000 for the construction of a greenhouse at the new high school.

Elected officers for 2016. They are are Denny Sjogren of Lafayette, president; Brian Fischer of Courtland and Beth Fluegge of rural New Ulm, first and second vice presidents; Ruth Klossner of Lafayette, secretary; Shannon Hillesheim of New Ulm, treasurer; and Randy Schroeder of Morgan, membership chair.

New club members are Robert and Sharlene Ahlers, Jeff and Jill Berdan, Scott and Missy Dreckman, Jason Engstrom, Kenneth and Christine Fluegge, Elmer and Lois Guggisberg, Lenny Klossner, Taylor Olson, Andy Schmiesing, Ann Vogel, Julie Wilson and John and Kristi Wolle.

Since its founding in 1974, the New Ulm Farm City Hub Club has followed its original purpose of promoting agriculture and agri-business in the New Ulm area through various activities, events, and promotions..

Membership is open to all; annual membership (single, couple, or business) is $25. For more information on membership, contact Schroeder at 507-233-4797.