Wabasso football, Marotzke, rack up Southwest District awards

The Southwest District released its 2020 All-Subdistrict football teams and awards on Friday, with Wabasso’s Nick Marotzke earning MVP honors in the East Subdistrict.

In addition to Marotzke being named the East’s MVP in the Southwest District, he also was named the East’s Offensive Back of the Year and Linebacker of the Year. Wabasso also saw head coach Joe Kemp being named the East’s Coach of the Year, while Will Carlson was named Offensive Receiver of the Year in the East. Wabasso also had Hunter Taylor chosen as the East’s Defensive Lineman of the Year, Colby Wall named the East’s Defensive Back of the Year and Matthew Evink named the East’s Special Teams Player of the Year. Wabasso had five players named to the East team in total, including Carter Benz, Carlson, Marotzke, Taylor and Wall. Brady Jenniges and Sam Rudenick were named honorable mentions for the Rabbits.

Joining the Wabasso players on the East Subdistrict team were Minnesota Valley Lutheran’s Carter Sexton, Connor Johnson, Luke Thompson and Cole Thompson. MVL’s Josh Giefer and David Santelman were named honorable mentions.

For New Ulm Cathedral, Jacob Berg, Noah Wilmes and Sam Knowles made the East team, while Jon Adema and Cole Schwartz were named honorable mentions.

Sleepy Eye saw three players named to the East team in David Gonzales, Kegan Heiderscheidt and Kadon Strong, while Jack Nelson and Jackson Huiras were named honorable mentions.

Springfield had four players named to the East team in Jason Berberich, Tori Helget, Kadin Johnson and Jordan Toll, while Caleb Hauger and Kyle Quesenberry were named honorable mentions.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)


Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today