College News

Roman “RC” Hacker of Rochester, MN graduated Summa Cum Laude with a Bachelor of Science Public Health from Western Kentucky University. Roman retired from the US Army in 2018 and currently works as a paramedic for Mayo Clinic in Rochester Minnesota. Roman is a 1995 graduate of Cathedral High School. He is the son of Roman and Evelyn Hacker.


Jenna Helget of New Ulm was named to the Dakota Wesleyan University rfall 2020 dean’s list .

To qualify for the dean’s list, a student must have a semester grade point average of at least 3.5 on a four-point scale. They also must complete at least 12 hours of academic work during the semester.


The Fall Semester Dean’s List at Gustavus Adolphus College has been released. The list comprises students who have earned a 3.7 grade point average or higher for the semester ending December 2020.

Area students include:

New Ulm: Connor Gag, Brianna Kauffmann, Hannah Kennedy, Jordan Petersen

Nicollet: Isabella Aase

Sleepy Eye: Nathan Schroepfer, Alexa Steffl, Alex Woitas

Springfield: Michael Gluth, Sydney Hauger


The following students from the area have been named to the University of Wisconsin-Stout Dean’s List for the fall 2020 semester.

The award, formerly known as the Chancellor’s Award, is presented to students who have a grade point average of 3.5 or above.

New Ulm: Zachary Helget, Freshman, BS business administration

Sleepy Eye: Alexa Owens, Sophomore, BS early childhood education


Normandale Community College has announced its 2020 Fall Semester Dean’s list. The following students enrolled in at least nine credits and have achieved a grade point average of at least 3.5 for courses completed in the fall semester ending this past May.

Area students include:

Arlington: Elena Albert

Wanda: Rebecca Klann


St. Cloud State University has announced its 2020 fall semester dean’s list. To be eligible for the honor, students must have a grade point average of 3.75 or higher on a 4.0 scale.

Area students on the list include:

Fairfax: Ellanna Pomplun, School of Education, Elementary/K-6 Education, BS

Franklin: Elizabeth Hansen, School of Health and Human Services, Nursing, BS

New Ulm: Ethan Mixdorf, School of Public Affairs, Business Economics, BA; Leah Preisinger, College of Liberal Arts, Psychology, BA

Springfield: Tyler Rummel, School of Health and Human Services, Health and Physical Education, BS


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)


Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today