Mathiowetz named Tomahawk Player of the Year

SLEEPY EYE — Sleepy Eye St. Mary’s junior Madison Mathiowetz was named the Tomahawk Conference girls’ basketball Player of the Year.

Mathiowetz led the Knights to the state semifinals as the Knights finished 23-1 this season. She was joined on the All-Conference team by teammates Sydney Windschitl and Reagan Severson. St. Mary’s coach Bruce Woitas was also named Coach of the Year.

Buffalo Lake-Hector-Stewart had Allison Milbrandt and Madalyn Wulkan on the team and Minnesota Valley Lutheran had Abbie Riederer on the team. Kadence Hesse of Sleepy Eye, Courtney Wendt and Brooklyn Sturm of Springfield, Sarah Franta of Wabasso and Brynn Busse of Gibbon-Fairfax-Winthrop also made the All-Conference team.

There were seven players named honorable mention, including Kristi Kottke and Rachel Kottke of BLHS, Kaylee Hunter of MVL, Brea Mertz of Sleepy Eye, Maddy Digmann of Springfield, Lily Franta of Cathedral and Megan Sandgren of Cedar Mountain.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)


Starting at $4.38/week.

Subscribe Today