Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

SMC All-Conference team announced

November 13, 2012
The Journal

Sleepy Eye St. Mary's, Springfield and New Ulm Cathedral led the way when the Southern Minnesota Conference All-Conference football selections were announced Monday.

St. Mary's also had the Offensive Player of the Year in Jordan Anderson and the Coach of the Year in Brent Kucera. Springfield's Lance Briard was named as the conference's Defensive Player of the Year and Red Rock Central's Henry Rogotzke was named Lineman of the Year.

Earning All-Conference honors for the Knights were Sean Mathiowetz, Anderson, Mitch Neid, Carter Krzmarzick, Andy Steffl and Lucas Heiderscheidt. Earning honorable mentions were David Suprenant and Nate Lax.

The Springfield players earning All-Conference honors were Briard, Jacob Menage, Christopher Kretsch, Trever Vanderwerf and Cody Graff. Nick Runck and Zach Wells were honorable mentions for the Tigers, with Briard, Christian Erickson, Robert Klabunde and Karson Herfurth earning Academic All-Conference honors.

The Greyhounds were represented on the All-Conference team by Adam Schnobrich, Jacob Stadick, Jeff Osborne, Jack Waibel and Russ Hoffmann. The team's honorable mentions were Nick Larson and Brandon Beranek.

Red Rock Central and Wabasso each received four All-Conference selections. Making the team for the Falcons were Rogotzke, Jeff Decock, Mitchell Schroepfer and Jordan Schroepfer and earning the honor for the Rabbits were Blake Altermatt, Dalton Taylor, Tanner Rohlik and Matt Zeug.

RRC's honorable mention selections were Brady Bierl and Casey Engen, with Engen and Bierl joining Austin Price and Tanner Pederson in receiving Academic All-Conference honors for the team. Wabasso had Cole Brand and TJ Fulton earn honorable mentions and Altermatt, Scott Jenniges and Neil Eichten earn Academic All-Conference.

Cedar Mountain/Comfrey's All-Conference selections were Zac Kerkhoff, Brady Kerkhoff and Andrew Richter. Collin Nestande and Josh Green earned honorable mentions for the Cougars and Drew Peterson was named Academic All-Conference.

Buffalo Lake-Hector-Stewart was represented on the All-Conference team by Kyle Kubesh and Chris Schmidt. Tate Lange and Ryan Coulter earned honorable mentions, with Kubesh also receiving Academic All-Conference honors.

Sleepy Eye's All-Conference selections were Jake Trebesch and John Mangen, with Tucker Schuster and Tyler Netzke earning honorable mentions. Mangen, Matt Schroepfer and Sam Hirschboeck received Academic All-Conference honors for the Indians.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web