College News

Valerie Newhouse, President of Iowa Lakes Community College, has released the spring honors list of full-time students (12 credits or more) who have demonstrated academic excellence by earning a grade point average of 3.25 (based on a 4.00) or higher.

Spring semester students who have achieved a 3.25 grade point average or better are recognized by inclusion on the dean’s list. Those with a 4.00 (A) average are on the President’s list.

Comfrey, MN, Amber Eischen


Olivia Thormodson of Hanska, School of Information Studies, MLIS – Master of Library and Information Science, is among 3,400 prospective candidates for degree attending University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee commencement exercises Sunday, May 20, 2018 in Milwaukee.


Concordia University, Seward, Neb., held its 111th commencement on Saturday, May 5 awarding undergraduate and graduate degrees to nearly 300 May graduates. The following area students were among those who graduated:

Amanda Uecker of Gaylord

Emma Wendorff of Winthrop


Student achievement at the University of Minnesota Crookston was recognized during the annual awards celebration in April. The program highlighted outstanding students in all departments and for volunteer service.

Whitney Anderson, Winthrop, was recognized with the Outstanding Future Educator Award


Bethany Lutheran College in Mankato announces that several area high school students have been awarded scholarships for the 2018-2019 school year.

Receiving the Luther Scholarship are Lauren McMackin, a senior at New Ulm High School; Dorothea Haselerhansen, a senior at Alph Omega Academy, and Maxwell Nerland, a senior at Minnesota Valley Lutheran High School. The Luther Scholarship is valued at $52,000 over four years.

Isaiah Koepsell, a senior at Minnesota Valley Lutheran High School, has been awarded the Dr. S.C. Ylvisaker Memorial Scholarship, valued at $64,000 over four years.