Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

SEHS presents — ‘You Can’t Take It With You’

November 5, 2012
By Fritz Busch - Staff Writer , The Journal

SLEEPY EYE - A play representing acceptance and tolerance - especially appropriate in the current political climate - will be presented next weekend at Sleepy Eye High School.

The comedy "You Can't Take It With You," will be presented at 7:30 p.m., Friday, Saturday and Monday, Nov. 9, 10 and 12 and at 2 p.m., Sunday, Nov. 11 in the high school auditorium. Tickets are available at the door.

Written by George S. Kaufman & Moss Hart, the play opened in 1936. It's about the Sycamore family who seems crazy until the audience realizes if they are crazy, the rest of the world is insane.

Article Photos

Staff photo by Fritz Busch
Sleepy Eye High School presents ‘You Can’t Take It With You’ on Nov. 9-12 in the high school auditorium. Among the cast members are, from left, Stephanie Hammerschmidt, Lauren Laffen, Matthew Miller (as a discus thrower), Tia Cselovszki, Brandon Roiger (at the easel), Bethany Seifert (kneeling) and Erin Kotten.

In contrast, Tony, the attractive young son of the more formal Kirbys, falls in love with Alice Sycamore and brings his parents to dine at the Sycamore home on the wrong evening.

Tony knows the Sycamores live the right way with love and care for each other, while his own family are the ones who are crazy.

In the end, Mr. Kirby is converted to the happy madness of the Sycamores after he stops by during a visit by the ex-Grand Duchess of Russia, Olga Katrina, who is earning her living as a waitress.

Director Paul Warshauer, on loan from NUACT (the New Ulm Actors Community Theater), called directing high school students "a great experience, like riding a roller coaster."

"The kids are jazzed," said Warshauer who will direct several public performances this year.

Associate director is Erik Root. Colby Gallagher is set designer. Stage managers are Emily Kjelshus and Emily Abel. Ben Espinoza and Brennon Helget handle lights and sound.

Cast members are Penelope Sycamore, Tia Cselovszki; Essie Carmichael, Stephanie Hammerschmidt; Zsa Zsa Gabohm, Bethany Seifert; Paul Sycamore, Matt Berkner; Mr. De Pinna, Matthew Miller; Ed Carmichael, Gunner McGee; Eva Gabohm, Erin Kotten; Martin Vanderhof, Brandon Roiger; Alice Sycamore, Lauren Laffen; William C. Henderson, Ethan Silfes; Tony Kirby, Tucker Schuster; Natasha Kolenkhov, Kalyn Haas; Gary Wellington, Isaac Nelson; Anthony Kirby, John Mangen; Miriam Kirby, Emily Abel; G-Man 1, Ethan Silfies; G-Man 2, Wayne Kosmatka; and Grand Duchess Olga Katrina, Cori Deming.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web