Business & Professional

Minnesota Valley Funeral Homes holds 88th Annual Meeting

NEW ULM — Over 430 members attended the 88th Annual Meeting of the Minnesota Valley Funeral Homes & Cremation Services on Tuesday, March 28, at the New Ulm Civic Center.

Accountant Ken Vonderharr gave the financial report to the members and informed them that the association had yet another profitable year in 2016. All of those profits will be paid back in dividends to the families that were served over the year. There were over 100 new memberships issued during the year, and over a million dollars invested in funeral pre-arrangements.

President Frank Bianchi spoke about the improvements made in the funeral home facilities over the past year, and also introduced Eric Warmka as the new general manager of the funeral homes due to the retirement in February of the long standing manager, Bruce Savoy.

Warmka gave a presentation on the current status of the funeral home, and what he sees for the future of the association. He informed the members that they had been pleased to have welcomed a new director, Dan Baltramonas to the staff, and also informed them of another director who will be joining the staff later this spring. He also spoke to the dedication of the current directors on staff, Dave Goplin and Peter Macho, and all others who work there, and thanked them for their dedication to the firm. He said that last year, over $68,000 were paid out in dividends, with even more to come this year. He spoke highly of how things have been operated in the past, and promised to continue with the same high quality service in the future.

Guest speaker for the meeting was the President and CEO of the New Ulm Chamber of Commerce Audra Shaneman. She spoke of the high national and state wide accolades that New Ulm as a community has received over the past few years, and also spoke about how the passing of the RENU tax will help continue to improve the community for generations to come.

Three board positions were up for election. Bianchi was re-elected to the board to represent Lafayette District 3, Rosemary Dittrich was elected to replace Jim Flatau from New Ulm-District 1, and Gary Hulke was elected to replace Bob Schabert in Courtland-District 4.

During the re-organizational meeting that followed, the board re-elected Bianchi to continue to serve as President, Dean Wels as Vice-President, and Mert Gustav as Secretary/Treasurer.

Mark D. Furth retires from Citizens Bank board

NEW ULM — Mark D. Furth of New Ulm has retired from his position on the Board of Directors at Citizens Bank Minnesota.

Furth was elected to the Board on August 9, 1990, and retired on March 16, 2017, a period of almost 27 years.

In addition to serving on a number of committees, Furth served as Chairman of the Board since July 9, 1998.


0 0items

Your shopping cart is empty.

Items/Products added to Cart will show here.