Milford Township looking at new town hall building


cost $160K

BROWN COUNTY — Milford Township plans to build a new town hall on County Road 11, across the road from the River Valley Dutchmen Snowmobile Club.

A few structure bids have been received. The project is estimated to cost about $160,000.

Township officers did not set the 2019 levy at last Tuesday’s meeting, as they are in the process of planning road construction and other projects. Plans are to set the levy in September, Milford Township Clerk Tom Giefer said.

Mike Dove was re-elected supervisor, despite not filing for re-election. He received 18 votes and accepted the position. Tony Boelter got 10, Jim Guggisberg two and Tom Guggisberg and Richard Moll each got one vote.

Other township election highlights:

• Incumbents Gary Parker and Michelle Fischer were re-elected supervisor and treasurer respectively in Albin Township with nine votes each. The levy remained at $85,000.

• Treasurer Leah Reiner and Supervisor Jeff Hall were re-elected in Bashaw Township with 11 votes each. The levy remained at $55,000.

• David Olson was re-elected Lake Hanska Supervisor with 12 votes. Kelly Johnson was elected treasurer with eight write-in votes. Doreen Wellmann got two votes and Mark Sletta had one vote. The levy remained at $100,000.

• Leavenworth Supervisor Jim Mickelson and Treasurer Julie Huiras were re-elected with 13 votes each. Cory Huiras got one write-in vote for supervisor. The levy remained at $100,000. Bids will be opened Thursday for a new road maintenance contract.

• Prairieville Township Supervisor Gerald Riebel and Treasurer Greg Grausam retained their positions with 11 votes each. The initial levy was set at $110,000. A final levy will be set in August. Clerk Tom Hirsch said the township has spent $9,000 on snow removal this year.

• Stark Township Supervisor Robert Goblirsch and Treasurer Dennis Hillesheim were re-elected with 12 votes each. A levy amount has not yet been set, due to a road maintenance contract to be settled.

• Home Township Chairman Joe Mangen was re-elected with all five votes. The levy remained at $160,000. The township will replace road signs and will cut the ditches this year.