Wall of Fame, Phase 2, complete

Staff photo by Clay Schuldt Kim RockVam (right) and Tim Knaak stand before the completed Wall of Fame located in the New Ulm High School.

NEW ULM — The Independent School District 88 Foundation completed the second phase of its Wall of Fame at New Ulm High School.

The Wall of Fame located in the high school commons includes photos of the 24 New Ulm graduates and a special computer kiosk that includes biographies of all inducted members.

The ISD 88 Foundation began inducting members in 2014. The foundation inducts up to six new members every year.

In 2014, David Benson, Kirk Gregg, Wanda Gag, Joe Harman, Nancy Noyes Silcox and Terry Steinbach were inducted.

In 2015, Ray Bentdahl, Curt Lambrecht, John Heymann, Ted Marti, Kent Knutson and Ann Vogel, MD, were inducted.

In 2016, Chris Contag, Henry Epp, Gene Forstner, John Marti, Mary Moriarty and Franklin Stuckey were inducted.

In 2017, Helen Fesenmaier, Paula Johnson, Bonnie Mohr, Faith Reinhart, Graeme Phelps “Flip” Schulke and Jim Zetah were inducted.

The Wall of Fame induction requirements are that all nominees have graduated from New Ulm or were a member of the school staff.

“The purpose of the wall is to inspire,” ISD 88 Foundation Director Kim RockVam said. “The people on the wall are inspiring.”

RockVam said there is a rubric used to score nominated members. A major factor in the score is contribution to the community.

ISD 88 Committee member Tim Knaak said the selection committee for new inductees is three members of the foundation board and three community members.

This last year 21 nominations were submitted. Those not selected will be rolled over for consideration next year.

RockVam said there are efforts to have an even balance to the Wall of Fame. Of the 21 nomination received only three were women. The hope is, by raising awareness, the foundation will receive more nominations and achieve a more equal balance.

The creation of the wall and electronic kiosk represents two years of investments from the foundation and donors. The technology component was the final factor. It was created by Foresee Studios of New Ulm. Students and guests will be able to easily look up information on their favorite inductees.

The next induction ceremony and banquet will be held Oct. 6 at New Ulm High School. Tickets will be available for purchase mid-August at the New Ulm Chamber of Commerce.